Smith Lime Kiln
A long-abandoned lime kiln, looking very much like a large stone
chimney, stands along the River Road 3 miles northwest of Fairbury. The
stone house was built in 1872 by Woral C. Smith.
period of a least 20
years, the Smith Lime Kiln was the sight of a lime-burning operation
where limestone was heated to a temperature around 900°, or "calcinized," until
it became lime. At that time, lime was used mainly as mortar or
plaster for housing foundations. It was sold locally and also shipped
out of the county in barrels.
The kiln operator,
Woral C. Smith, used some of his own product in building the stone
home a short distance from the kiln. The old kiln and home are
now property of the Jefferson County Historical Socety, and are
listed in the National Register of Histioric Places.
The house features a display that explains the lime-burning industry
and visitors can stroll a short distance to the kiln. It is the
only kiln that is still intact in Jefferson county.
Lime Kiln is open Sundays from 2-4 pm Memorial Day to Labor Day
from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Email inquiries to email@example.com
or call (402) 729-5131